Home > To Do list when quitting > I want to quit, what do I do?

I want to quit, what do I do?

Today marks the start of a new series about the to do list of the early overcomer. A common problem faced by people who quit sexual sin is “What do I do now?”. This is not just a matter of giving something up. It’s also a matter of moving towards a healthier lifestyle.

One of the reasons people fail is a lack of direction. They know they need to quit; that what they are doing is not the way. We have lived in our unhealthy lifestyle so long we don’t know any other way. Every few days I’ll post some of the things I did that I found helpful in the early days.

This list was built on years of experience – some bad, some good. You gotta understand that I have been at this for a long time (decades of sexual sin and five years of sexual sobriety). What I report here is based from those experiences. There are other ways, other methods. I’m not guaranteeing that this will work for you, I’m just saying this worked for me.

I am not a trained or licensed counselor. The only degree I have here is “Life 101”. All I am doing here is speaking from my experiences in hopes that others can benefit from it. They say in AA “Take what you like and leave the rest”. It’s my hope that you can learn from my experiences as you shape your own recovery.

Every few days I will post about the following list…

  • Tell a safe friend.
  • Turn from your sin.
  • Put some structure in place
  • Get accountable
  • Pray
  • Be patient
  • Start meeting with like minded people
  • There may be others, I haven’t decided yet.

Come back tomorrow and I’ll talk a bit about “Tell a safe friend”.

  1. Blake
    April 26, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    MOH would sure look at putting together a weekly meeting to support our brothers. If there are some responses we’ll put it together.

    Blake

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

