Home > General > Satisfaction

Satisfaction

December 17, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Turkey. Mashed potatoes. Cranberry sauce. Pumpkin pie. Kitchen activity. Family. Conversation. Thanksgiving’s always a great time to get together with people we don’t see often. This year was a year I won’t soon forget.

One of my kids decided to interview the old folk at the table, as research for a school paper. These people are the last of the “depression generation.” Born in the ’20’s and ’30’s, they lived through the Great Depression. Electricity didn’t come to the farm until the ’50’s. Party line telephones were common – once they got a phone. They grew up eating from their own garden and butchering their own chickens and cows. Their choices were few.

These people were self reliant. They learned to fix tractors and cars. They tell stories of keeping the mailman’s car running during WWII – otherwise they just didn’t get their mail. Necessities were hard to come by; luxuries were out of the question.

Back to my kid’s paper… the question was something about the biggest change from their youth till now. The elder man in the group spoke without hesitation.

“Folks just aren’t satisfied these days,” he said.

I thought, “What?” I was expecting answers like jet travel, internet, highways, farming… just about anything other than that.

Satisfaction???

I don’t think he was talking about addiction, but it sure rang my bell. If there’s one place I’ve lived with constant dissatisfaction, it’s sex. I stepped on that treadmill back in my youth – the search for that last experience that would make the pain stop. It wasn’t conscious. The heart drove the mind. But the more sexual experience I pursued, the more my heart became dissatisfied.

Finally, I learned my way out of that. I can’t tell you the exact moment it came. It began when my secret was no longer a secret, but the actual change was more like the gradual transition from fog to clear sky. It only came after I laid down my pursuit of sexual satisfaction and started listening to others who had made the trip; started listening to and following the steps that they told me would bring healing, relying on God to give me strength. As I did that, satisfaction quietly grew.

In the words of the Apostle Paul in Philippians 4…

I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Satisfaction.

No way would I go back to where I was.

Email me at victoryispossible@gmail.com. I promise two things: you won’t find your way out of the sexual satisfaction fog alone, and I’ll keep your contact confidential.

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

